All Things Artistic Ministries, Inc.

Glorifying God through the arts!

I Want What You Want

Facing his last hours before the journey to the cross, Jesus cried out, “Father, if Thou art willing, remove this cup from me” (Matt. 26:39).  How many times have I asked the same question to God? Too often I have pleaded with God to give me what I wanted. Hearing silence or the word “No,” I became furious. I wanted what I wanted when I wanted it, like a spoiled child throwing a temper tantrum. As a wise father, God firmly spoke, “No.” Sometimes like a submissive child I’d painfully accept His emphatic “No.” Other times I willfully bounded forward plunging into the deep waters of mistake while ignorantly declaring, “If I mess up, Lord, I know you’ll pick up the pieces.” I did mess up and true to His faithful nature, as a gentle hand picks up a broken-winged bird; the Comforter gently redeemed me from my foolishness. However, the pain was overwhelming and I still did not get what I thought I wanted. In time, I learned to surrender to the Lord’s will trusting only Him.

Our surrender leads to complete satisfaction in Christ. Jesus knew his fate was the cross and our fate was redemption, “Not My will but Your will be done” (Luke 22:42). Surrender your gifts, talents, skills and abilities to the God, your art will reach people and places beyond your imagination.

“I Want What You Want”

The Lord asked me, “What do you want?”

I said, “I want what You want Lord, I want what You want.”

He asked me, “Are you sure?”

I said, “Yes Lord, I want what You want Lord, I want what You want.”

He said, “Sometimes what I want for you, you may not like.”

I said, “Yes, I know we’ve been there before.  But, I want what you want Lord, I want what you want.”

He said,  “Well, My ways are not your ways, My thoughts are higher than yours.”

I said, “Yes Lord. You have taught me to seek Your ways and not Your hand.  So, I want what You want Lord. I want what You want.”

He said, “Now you might have mountains that are hard to climb, or valleys that are low.”

I said, “You have given me hind’s feet to walk on high places.  You’re with me wherever I go. I want what You want Lord.  I want what You want.”

He said, “Now you sound like you’re ready for a special place in Me.  You’ve learned to trust Me, when the end you could not see. Now I will give you the desires of your heart. My ways will be your ways, My thoughts will be your thoughts.

You are My child, I have called you by name.  Because you want what I want, your life will never be the same.”

© April, 1998 by Debby Mitchell

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I Want What You Want

  1. Marj Patrick on said:

    Hope He wants your sharing these treasures again here in South Africa!

    ” Ngifuna Lokhu Okufanayo” = I want what You want (isiZulu)

    Like

  2. Awesome Debby!!!!! AWESOME….

    Like

  3. Dr. Willisue Patterson on said:

    This is what we are striving for. Praise God for His grace in leading you to the place of absolute surrender. I agree with you on Matt. 26. Jesus’ surrender in the Garden led to the cross. But praise God after the cross the resurrection and ascension. Thank you for sharing.

    Blessings my Sister

    Willisue

    Like

  4. E. A. Russell on said:

    It’s a special place to be “wanting what God wants”. Not a great number of us get there, and then apply it. A child so ernestly and innocently responds in this maner even when they really don’t know what God’s ways and thoughts means for their life. That is what God looks for from all believers yet with a mature deliberate decisiveness. The poem gives pause for a thought: Do we really want what God wants or are we only in a place wanting and wishing that we wanted what God wants for us. Lord help us to want what you want.

    Like

    • Minister Russell,
      You are so correct. We have to remember that our spiritual life is a journey. That’s why the scriptures refer to it as our walk. I appreciate this reminder because just this week I had to remind myself to surrender to God’s will. Lord, help us to want what You want.

      God bless you.

      Like

  5. I love the “journey” expression because growth is always a process and in a journey or process there will always be ups and downs with days of confidence and days of doubt. However, when we clear our minds or just stand still for a moment, it allows us to reconnect with our source and our strength-which is our Heavenly Father. Your words of inspiration reminds us that if we stay in the habit of letting Him lead, our paths will be clear and our true destiny will come to pass.

    Like

Leave a Reply

